Putin bans Joe Biden, Hillary Clinton, 11 other Americans from entering Russia


Putin bans Joe Biden, Hillary Clinton, 11 other Americans from entering Russia

Russia has imposed travel restrictions against US President Joe Biden, Hillary Clinton and other members of the Biden Administration in response to the sanctions rolled out against it.

On Tuesday, the Foreign Ministry released a list of individuals affected by the restrictions.

“In response to a series of unprecedented sanctions prohibiting, among other things, entry into the United States for top officials of the Russian Federation, since March 15, President Joe Biden, on the basis of reciprocity, has been included in the Russian stop list…, as well as a number of departmental heads and well-known American figures,” the ministry said.

The list includes Mr Biden, U.S. Secretary of State Anthony Blinken, U.S. Secretary of Defense Lloyd Austin, Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff Mark Milley, Assistant to the President of the United States for National Security Jacob Sullivan and his Deputy Duleep Singh.

Others include the Director of the CIA William Burns, White House Press Secretary Jennifer Psaki, Director of the Agency for International Development Samantha Power, Hillary Clinton, Hunter Biden, Adewale Adeyemo – First Deputy Minister of Finance; and Reta Jo Lewis, the President and Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Export-Import Bank.

These actions by Russia are retaliatory sanctions taken after the United States and other global bodies like the European Union announced batches of decisions to stifle the Russian economy and pressure Vladimir Putin into calling off its attack on Ukraine.

The Russian ministry described the doled out sanctions by the West as “Russophobic”.

Mr Biden last month sanctioned major Russian banks, adding that it would go after the Russian military and Belarusian individuals and entities for their support for the invasion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.